Casa Batllo Geschichte

Barcelona Casa Batlló: Geschichte

Barcelona ist bekannt für seine ikonische Architektur. Diese Bauwerke sind der Grund, warum jedes Jahr Millionen von Touristen in die Stadt strömen. Eines dieser Gebäude ist das Casa Batlló, das sich im Zentrum der Stadt befindet und von dem verehrten katalanischen Genie Antoni Gaudí entworfen wurde.

Das Casa Batlló im Wandel der Zeit

Casa Batllo Geschichte

Casa Batlló Geschichte

Casa Batllo Geschichte Paseo de Gracia

Paseo de Gracia

Die Umgestaltung des Paseo de Gracia in Barcelonas Eixample spielt eine äußerst wichtige Rolle bei der Entwicklung des Casa Batlló. Bis 1827 war der Passeig de Gràcia unter dem Namen Camí de Jesús (Jesus-Straße) bekannt und war eine quasi ländliche Straße, die Barcelona mit der Nachbarstadt Gràcia verband. Im Jahr 1824 wurde diese Gasse im Rahmen eines Urbanisierungsprojekts in eine Allee umgewandelt, die sich zu einem beliebten Treffpunkt für Aristokraten entwickelte. Architekten der Moderne und des Jugendstils begannen, hier Häuser zu entwerfen. Zu dieser Zeit kaufte Josep Batlló y Casanovas, ein bekannter Geschäftsmann, das Gebäude der Casa Batlló von Lluís Sala Sánchez. Heute gilt der Passeig de Gràcia als eine der teuersten Straßen Barcelonas und Spaniens.

Casa Batllo Geschichte

Der ursprüngliche Bau

1877 wurde das Casa Batlló in seiner ursprünglichen Form von Emilio Sala Cortés errichtet, einem der Architekturprofessoren Gaudís. Das Gebäude wurde von Lluís Sala Sánchez in Auftrag gegeben und war ursprüngliche ziemlich unoriginell: ein klassisches Gebäude mit Keller, Erdgeschoss, vier weiteren Stockwerken und einem Hintergarten. Man kann jedoch sagen, dass die Langweiligkeit des Gebäudes zu seiner rettenden Gnade wurde. Batlló kaufte das Gebäude trotz seiner unerwünschten Gestaltung wegen seiner erstklassigen Lage. Einige Jahre später rief Battló Gaudí an, um dieses unscheinbare Haus in etwas umzuwandeln, das es mit dem spektakulären Nachbargebäude Casa Amatller aufnehmen konnte, das von Puig i Cadafalch entworfen worden war.

Casa Batllo Renovierung
Casa Batllo Geschichte

Der Block der Zwietracht

Die katalanische Bourgeoisie ist zwar für die Umgestaltung des Passeig de Gracia verantwortlich, aber ohne die modernistischen katalanischen Architekten wäre dies alles nicht möglich gewesen. Genau wie Gaudí renovierten auch andere Architekten Häuser und brachten den modernistischen Stil nach Barcelona. Diese Häuser konkurrierten auch miteinander um die Auszeichnungen der Stadtverwaltung von Barcelona, was der Umgebung den Namen Block der Zwietracht einbrachte. Die vier anderen herausragenden Häuser in dieser Straße, die dazu beitrugen, das Gesicht des Passeig de Gracia zu verändern, sind Casa Amatller von Josep Puig i Cadafalch, Casa Lleó Morera von Lluís Domènech i Montaner, Casa Mulleras von Enric Sagnier und Casa Josefina Bonet von Marcel-li Coquillat.

Casa Batlló heute

Seit den 1990er Jahren wird das Casa Batlló von der Familie Bernat verwaltet. Seit 1995 ist das Haus für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich, um Veranstaltungen durchzuführen. Seit 2002, zeitgleich mit dem Internationalen Gaudí-Jahr, bieten sie kulturelle Besichtigungen des Casa Batlló an.

Casa Batlló-Tickets buchen

Casa Batlló Ticket mit Zeitfenster

Digitale Tickets
Dauer: 1 Std. - 2 Std.
Mehr anzeigen +

Häufig gestellte Fragen: Casa Batlló Geschichte

Wann wurde das Casa Batlló erbaut?

Das ursprüngliche Gebäude wurde im Jahr 1877 von Emilio Sala Cortés erbaut. Zwischen 1904 und 1906 wurde es von Antoni Gaudí renoviert.

Wo befindet sich das Casa Batlló in Barcelona?

Casa Batlló befindet sich in der Passeig de Gràcia, 43, 08007 Barcelona, Spanien.

Sind Casa Batlló-Tickets online erhältlich?
Wer hat das Casa Batlló entworfen?

Das Casa Battló wurde von Antoni Gaudí entworfen.

Wie lange hat es gedauert, das ursprüngliche Casa Batlló-Gebäude zu renovieren?

Gaudí renovierte das Haus zwischen 1904 und 1906 und hatte damit etwa zwei Jahre Zeit, um das Casa Batlló zu schaffen, das wir heute kennen.

Wofür ist das Casa Batlló berühmt?

Das Casa Batlló gehört zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. Das von Antoni Gaudí entworfene Gebäude ist ein Muss für jeden, der Gaudís Werk verstehen und bewundern möchte.

Wer bewohnte früher das Casa Batlló?

Die Familie Batlló bewohnte das Haus von 1900 bis 1954.

Wer wohnt aktuell im Casa Batlló?

Derzeit wohnt niemand im Casa Battló. Heute ist es eine Touristenattraktion für diejenigen, die Gaudís Genie verstehen wollen. Es dient auch als Veranstaltungsort.

Welche anderen markanten Gebäude gibt es am Passeig de Gracia?

Die anderen vier herausragenden Gebäude am Passeig de Gracia sind Casa Amatller von Josep Puig i Cadafalch, Casa Lleó Morera von Lluís Domènech i Montaner, Casa Mulleras von Enric Sagnier und Casa Josefina Bonet von Marcel-li Coquillat.

Wie kam das Casa Batlló zu seinem Namen?

Casa Batlló bedeutet wörtlich übersetzt „Haus von Batlló“, was durchaus Sinn macht, da das Haus nach dem Kauf durch Josef Batlló die Veränderungen durchmachte, die es zu dem Kulturgut machten, das es heute ist. Wegen der knochenähnlichen Struktur des Hauses wird es auch Casa dels ossos (Haus der Knochen) genannt.

Wie alt ist das Casa Batlló?

Das ursprüngliche Gebäude wurde 1877 erbaut. Damit ist das Casa Batlló 144 Jahre alt. Allerdings ist es erst 115 Jahre her, dass Gaudí das Haus renoviert hat.

Ist das Casa Batlló ein Museum?

Ja, heute steht das Casa Batlló Besuchern für kulturelle Besichtigungen offen, damit sie das Genie von Antoni Gaudí kennenlernen und bewundern können.

Welchen architektonischen Stil hat das Casa Batlló?

Das Casa Batlló ist im Stil des Modernisme oder Jugendstils gestaltet.

Wann wurde das Casa Batlló fertiggestellt?

Gaudí vollendete seine Arbeiten am Casa Batlló zwischen 1904 und 1906.

Casa Batllo

Casa Batllo History | The Story of Casa Batllo in Barcelona

Barcelona is known for its iconic architecture. These structures are the reason why millions of tourists throng the city every year. One of these buildings is Casa Batllo, located in the center of the city and designed by the revered Catalan genius, Antoni Gaudí. 

Casa Batllo Timeline

Casa Batllo History

Casa Batllo History

Casa Batllo History - Paseo de Gracia

Paseo de Gracia

The transformation of Paseo de Gracia in Barcelona’s Eixample or Expansion District plays an extremely important role in the development of Casa Batllo. Until 1827, Passeig de Gràcia was known as Camí de Jesús (Jesus Road) and was a quasi-rural lane that connected Barcelona with the neighboring town of Gràcia. In 1824, as part of an urbanization project, this lane was converted into an avenue that became a favorite hanging spot for aristocrats. Modernista/Art Nouveau architects began designing homes here. It was around this time that Josep Batlló y Casanovas, a prominent businessman, bought the Casa Batllo building from Lluís Sala Sánchez. Today, Passeig de Gràcia is considered to be one of the most expensive streets in Barcelona and in Spain.

Casa Batllo History

Initial Construction

In 1877, Casa Batllo, in its original form, was constructed by Emilio Sala Cortés, who was one of Gaudí’s architecture professors. At this point, Barcelona still did not enjoy electric light. The building has been commissioned by Lluís Sala Sánchez. The original building was quite unoriginal. It was a classical building with a basement, a ground floor, four other floors, and a garden in the back. However, one can say that the building’s dullness became its saving grace. Batllo bought the building, despite its undesirable design, because of its prime location. A few years later, Battlo called Gaudi to transform this lackluster house into something that would be able to match the spectacular nature of the neighboring building, Casa Amatller, which has been designed by Puig i Cadafalch. 

Casa Batllo Renovation
Casa Batllo History- Restoration

Bone of Contention

While the Catalan bourgeoisie is responsible for the transformation of the Passeig de Gracia, none of this would have been possible without the modernist Catalan architects. Just like Gaudi, other architects were reforming houses and bringing modernist style to Barcelona. These houses were also competing with each other for awards from the Barcelona City Council, earning this period the name ‘ The Bone of Contention’. The four other most prominent houses on this street that helped transform the face of Passeig de Gracia are Casa Amatller by  Josep Puig i Cadafalch, Casa Lleó Morera by Lluís Domènech i Montaner, Casa Mulleras by Enric Sagnier and Casa Josefina Bonet by Marcel-li Coquillat.

Casa Batllo Today

Since the 1990s, Casa Batllo has been taken care of by the Bernat family. Since 1995, the house has been open to the public for conducting events. Since 2002, coinciding with the International Year of Gaudí, they began offering cultural visits to Casa Batlló.

Book Casa Batllo Tickets

Casa Batlló Timed Entry Ticket

Mobile Ticket
Duration: 1 hr. - 2 hr.
More Details +

All Your Questions About Casa Batllo History Answered

Q. When was Casa Batllo built?

A.  While the original building was built in 1877 by Emilio Sala Cortés. It was renovated by Antoni Gaudi between 1904 and 1906.

Q. Where is Casa Batllo located?

A. Casa Batllo is located at Passeig de Gràcia, 43, 08007 Barcelona, España.

Q. Are Casa Batllo tickets available online?

Yes, Casa Batllo tickets are available online. You can buy them here.

Q. Who designed Casa Batllo?

A. Casa Battlo was designed by Antoni Gaudi.

Q. How many years did it take to renovate the original Casa Batllo building?

A. Gaudi renovated the house between 1904 to 1906, giving him about two years to create the Casa Batllo we know today.

Q. What is Casa Battlo famous for?

A. Casa Batlló is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Designed by Antoni Gaudi, the building is a must-visit attraction for anyone who wishes to understand and marvel at Gaudí's work.

Q. Who lived in Casa Batllo?

A. The Batllo family lived in the house between 1900 to 1954.

Q. Who currently resides at Casa Batllo?

A. No one currently resides at Casa Battlo. Today, it is acts as a tourist attraction for those who wish to understand Gaudi's genius. It also acts as a venue for events.

Q. What are the other prominent buildings on Passeig de Gracia?

A. The other four prominent structures on Passeig de Gracia are Casa Amatller by  Josep Puig i Cadafalch, Casa Lleó Morera by Lluís Domènech i Montaner, Casa Mulleras by Enric Sagnier and Casa Josefina Bonet by Marcel-li Coquillat.

Q. How did Casa Batllo earn its name?

A. Casa Batllo quite literally translates to 'House of Batllo', which makes sense since the house went through the transformations that made it the cultural asset it is today after Josef Batllo purchased the house. It is also locally called Casa dels ossos (House of Bones), because of the bone-like structure of the house.

Q. How old is Casa Batllo?

A. The original building was constructed in 1877, which makes Casa Batllo 144 years old. However, it has been only 115 years since Gaudi renovated the house.

Q. Is Casa Batllo a museum?

Yes, today, Casa Batllo is open to visitors for cultural visits so that they can learn about and admire Antoni Gaudi's genius.

Q. What is the architectural style of Casa Batllo?

A. Casa Batllo is designed in the style of Modernisme or Art Nouveau.

Q. When was Casa Batllo completed?

A. Gaudi completed his work on Casa Batllo between 1904 and 1906.